

Recreation Works

MEDIA RELEASE

October 26, 2015

Recognizing Saskatchewan's Excellence in Recreation and Parks

The Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association (SPRA) is the recognized leader for the wellbeing of people and communities through recreation. We provide leadership, facilitation, programs and services to enhance the impact of recreation for the quality of life in Saskatchewan.

SPRA paid tribute to exceptional individuals and community groups for their outstanding contributions to Saskatchewan's growing parks and recreation sector during a Gala event at the Gallagher Centre in the City of Yorkton on October 24, 2015.

Canadian Parks and Recreation Association Award President's Award of Distinction - Randy Kinnee

The CPRA President's Award of Distinction recognizes the exceptional contributions or long-term commitment, of an individual, organization, or corporation that has worked towards the advancement of the parks and recreation agenda on a national level. This recipient will have shown excellent leadership and long lasting dedication to the parks and recreation sector on a national scale. There will be only one recipient per year of this award.

This year's award was presented posthumously to Randy Kinnee.

2015 SPRA Awards Winners

The SPRA Awards pay tribute to exceptional individuals and communities. Through their efforts and skills, they have made outstanding and extraordinary contributions to the recreation movement in Saskatchewan.

- Award of Merit Paul McGonigal, City of Warman
- Volunteer of the Year Award Adam Fetsch, City of Yorkton
- Facility Operations Award Don Wolfe, City of Lloydminster
- Cecil Nobes Facility Award of Excellence Foam Lake Water Park
- Fitness Leadership Award Rachelle Fuller

2015 Scholarship Recipients

SPRA supports individuals pursuing careers in recreation by awarding scholarships to students enrolled in Recreation and Leisure programs across Saskatchewan. Recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement and demonstrated involvement as a volunteer in recreation, parks or leisure services. This year's scholarship winners include:

- Karly Russin Saskatchewan Polytechnic
- Evan Mah University of Saskatchewan

More Information

The 2015 SPRA Awards also included the presentation of the Saskatchewan Association of Recreation Professionals (S.A.R.P.) Awards and the winners of the 2015 Provincial *Communities in Bloom* awards.

To learn more about these exceptional individuals and groups, please refer to the <u>2015 Awards Galabrochure</u>.

For more information about the 2015 SPRA Awards, please contact Lori Ross, Communications Consultant, at (306) 780-9370 or lross@spra.sk.ca.



