

Recreation Works

MEDIA RELEASE

November 1, 2016

Recognizing Saskatchewan's Excellence in Recreation and Parks

The Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association (SPRA) is the recognized leader for the wellbeing of people and communities through recreation. We provide leadership, facilitation, programs and services to enhance the impact of recreation for the quality of life in Saskatchewan.

We paid tribute to exceptional individuals and community groups for their outstanding contributions to Saskatchewan's growing parks and recreation sector during a Gala event at the Delta Hotel – Saskatchewan Trade and Convention Centre in the City of Regina on October 28, 2016.

2016 SPRA Awards Winners

Through their efforts and skills, these outstanding individuals and community groups have made extraordinary contributions to the parks and recreation movement in Saskatchewan.

- Award of Merit Debra Ashby
- Volunteer of the Year Award Bruno Lemire
- Facility Operations Award Danny Rudyck
- Cecil Nobes Facility Award of Excellence Moosomin Potash Corp Sportsplex
- Fitness Leadership Award Orpha Smith
- Parks and Open Spaces Award Limerick Centennial Park
- Community Achievement Award Bengough Gateway Festival

2016 Scholarship Recipients

This program supports individuals pursuing careers in recreation by awarding scholarships to students enrolled in Recreation and Leisure programs across Saskatchewan. The 2016 scholarship winners include:

- Nathan Legg Kinesiology and Health Studies, University of Regina
- Tia Bossaer Recreation and Community Development, Saskatchewan Polytechnic
- Maxim Powiada College of Kinesiology and Health Studies, University of Saskatchewan

Background

The 2016 SPRA Awards Gala was hosted during <u>Healthy Communities – Harvesting the Benefits</u>, a joint national event hosted by SPRA in partnership with Communities in Bloom.

For more information about the 2016 SPRA Awards, please contact Lori Ross, Communications Consultant, at (306) 780-9370 or lross@spra.sk.ca.

